Warning: ini_set() has been disabled for security reasons in /var/www/test.shra.org.za/www/html/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 48

Warning: ini_set() has been disabled for security reasons in /var/www/test.shra.org.za/www/html/libraries/src/Session/Session.php on line 942

 DSC0428 RS

Thembelihle Village


Social Housing is a rental or co-operative housing option which requires institutionalised management which is provided by accredited SHIs or in accredited social housing projects in designated restructuring zones.


DSC 0248 RS



Social housing provides good quality rental accommodation for the upper end of the low income market (R1500 - R15 000). With the primary objective of urban restructuring, creating substainable human settlements.





Housing is not just about building houses...it is also about transforming our residential areas and building communities.


SHRA logo

Legal Disclaimer
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Abbreviations & Acronyms 

Social housing professionals sometimes speak in acronyms - for example, calling the Social Housing Regulatory the SHRA.  Here are some terms often used to help you decode social housing speak:

ASAQS -  Association of South African Quantity Surveyors
ASHCO - Alexandra Social Housing Company

BCC -  Black Construction Council
BESG - Built Environment Support Group
BNG -  Breaking New Ground

CDSM - Community Development Services & Management
CETA - Construction Education & Training Authority
CIDB - Construction Industry Development Board
CRU - Community Residential Units
CSIR - Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
CSM - Corporate Services Manager
CTCHC - Cape Town Community Housing Company

DA - Delivery Agents – this includes both Accredited SHIs and Private sector organisations 
DAG - Development Action Group
DBSA -  Development Bank of Southern Africa
DHS - Department of Human Settlements
DIGH - Dutch International Guarantees for Housing
DM - Deep Down Market – Beneficiaries earning less than R3500
DPLG - Department of Provincial and Local Government
DPSA - Department of Public Services and Administration
DTI - Department of Trade and Industry

EIA - Environmental Impact Assessment
FM - Finance Manager (SHIP Team)
FLISP - Finance-Linked Individual Subsidy Programm
FMHC - First Metro Housing Company

GGICHC - Greater Germiston Inner City Housing Corporation
GM - Grant Manager (SHIP Team)
GMHA - Greater Middelburg Housing Association
GPF - Gauteng Partnership Fund

HAEL - Housing Association East London
HDA - Housing Development Agency
HSRC - Human Sciences Research Council

ICA - International Co-operative Alliance
IDP - Integrated Development Plan
IDT - Independent Development Trust
IHSA - Institute for Housing Southern Africa
IM - Investment Manager (SHIP Team)
IRC - Independent Review Consultant (SHIP Team)
ISHP - Interim Social Housing Programme
ISHP I - Interim Social Housing Programme in year 1 of programme
ISHP II - Interim Social Housing Programme in year 2 of programme
ISHP III - Interim Social Housing Programme in year 3 of programme

JHC -  Johannesburg Housing Company
JOSHCO - Johannesburg Social Housing Company

KWTHA - King Williams Town Housing Association

MDB - Municipal Demarcation Board
MEC - Members of Executive Committees
MHA - Msunduzi Housing Association

NASHO - National Association of Social Housing Organisations
NCASA - National Co-Operatives Association of South Africa
NDA - National Development Agency
NDoH - National Department of Housing
NDoHS - National Department of Human Settlements
NEDLAC - National Economic Development and Labour Council
NHBRC - National Home Builders Registration Council
NHFC - National Housing Finance Corporation
NORAD - The Norwegian Agency for Development Co-operation
NSHTT - National Social Housing Task Team
NURCHA -  National Urban and Reconstruction Housing Agency

OHHA - Own Haven Housing Association

PB - Primary Beneficiary – tenant/household that has a joint income that is less than R3500 per month
PHP -  People’s Housing Process
PM - Programme Manager (SHIP Team) 
PRZs - Provisional Restructuring Zones
PSC - Provincial Steering Committees
PSSP - Public Sector Support Programme

QS A - Quick Scan A (Organisational Due Diligence)
QS B - Quick Scan B (Assessment of the Project)
QS C - Quick Scan C (Financial viability of the Project)

RCG - Restructuring Capital Grant

SAHCA - South African Housing Co-operative Association
SALGA - South African Local Government Association
SB - Secondary Beneficiary – tenant/household that has a joint income that is between R3501 to a maximum of R7500 per month
SHA - Social Housing Association
SHF - Social Housing Foundation
SHI - Social Housing Institution
SHiFT - Social Housing Focus Trust
SHIP - Social Housing Investment Programme
SHRA - Social Housing Regulatory Authority
SM - Secondary Market – Beneficiaries earning from R3500 to R7500
SOHCO - Social Housing Company
SPSH - Support Programme for Social Housing

TAT - Transaction Advisors of Treasury
TM - Technical Manager (SHIP Team)
TRG - Technical Resource Group
TSSP - Technical Sector Support Programme
TUHF - Trust for Urban Housing Finance

UNCHS - United Nations Committee for Human Settlements
USAID - United States Agency for International Development
UDZ - Urban Development Zone

YCH - Yeast City Housing